SZA

 

 

I want to start this post off with a quick discussion about identity and intersectionality before I go into how the two worked together to make SZA’s CTRL Tour one of the most uplifting shows that I have ever been to.

Today’s social and political climate brings self-identification to the forefront in a way that I believe to be simultaneously destructive and constructive. Where identifiers like “conservative” and “liberal” or “Democrat” and “Republican” have become polarized to the point of prohibiting conversation, the rise in pride in our races, religions, genders, and sexualities have fostered an increased sense of community and a (generally) more positive self-concept for communities historically shut out from society.

In my case, I am a white, gay male with no particular religious (or political) affiliation. I am lucky to have been born to a family and community that are both supportive of my sexuality, and I am privileged to not have to worry that my gender or my skin color may result in a raised eyebrow at a department store -or worse. The fact that others don’t feel the same safety as I do in society is the most deplorable thing that I attribute to American (and global) society today.

This brings me to SZA’s CTRL Tour, which featured support from Ravyn Lenae and Smino. The most important part of the show was (besides the music) the safety that each of the performers fosters – especially for young black women. Smino even noted how good it felt to see so many young black people coming out to support what I would call a “showcase of black excellence.” Not to mention the presence of queer women of color – the most marginalized and brutalized community in the country. The night was empowering for me, so I can’t begin to imagine what it was like for the women of color in the crowd whom SZA directly aimed to empower with her album, CTRL.

As I walked inside, Ravyn Lenae was finishing up her sound check and interacting with others in the crowd who had already secured their spots in front of the stage. She proceeded to open the show (after a quick wardrobe change) followed by Smino. It’s difficult for me to define either of their genres as it just feels wrong to pigeonhole either of their endless sonic and vocal talents. I can say, though, that their range from trip-hop to soul did not live in the shadow of SZA’s performance later in the night. Further, I think that each performer brought an individualistic style and energy to the stage that complimented each other and mirrored the diversity of the audience.

The crowning jewel of the night was hearing tracks like Garden (Say It Like Dat), Supermodel, and Drew Barrymore straight from SZA’s mouth. With a live band that brought the already righteous instrumentals to another level, SZA continued to ensure that everyone (particularly the black women) in the crowd felt the power that I’m sure she felt writing and recording the album. I feel privileged to have witnessed so much genuine beauty and reciprocated love and understanding – none of which would have been possible if EVERYONE didn’t feel safe.

It’s time to move beyond being a “colorblind” society to a society that recognizes, praises, and promotes each other’s differences. One that fosters self-love and mutual respect.

“So, that’s what I think about CTRL.”

Listen to SZA, Ravyn Lenae, and Smino here:

One thought on “SZA

Leave a comment